Building a Farmhouse Coffee Table

Hello, world!

A lot of things have happened since my last post. Last January, I lost my mother. It was one of the hardest things I ever experienced. I was still in my first year of teaching, and she was the one person whom I would seek advice. She was my rock.

Before I continue showing my work, I wanted to explain why, all of a sudden, did I want to begin building my own piece of furniture. Below are my reasons:

1.  Grieving: Currently, I am still grieving the loss of my mother. It is going to take a long time for me to fully heal. Building furniture has been a wonderful coping mechanism for me. I wish I have the words to explain it, but I do not know.

2. Family: I am going to be honest with you, my dad and I did not have the greatest relationship when I was growing up. Our interests were different. Our personalities were constantly clashing with one another. My mom was always the mediator when my dad and I argued. Now that she is gone, both of us realize that we needed to build a better relationship. Woodworking has helped our relationship tremendously because we now have something in common.

3. Money: I am aware this reason is completely different from the last two reasons. My husband and I have full-time jobs. However, we are both facing debt which we have been paying on since we started living together. We do not have the money to leisurely go out and spend money every weekend. We also do not have the money to buy and replace furniture.

The first thing Matt and I wanted to replace was our living room coffee table. We bought it on Amazon two years ago. It was small, simple, and cheap. Over the course of the two years, my decoration inspiration changed, it was getting scratches from everyday wear, and it was hard to store Matt’s Playstation 3 accessories. We both agreed on a bigger and better coffee table. However, we did not want to pay the price for better quality (we saw some places advertising coffee tables between $200-400!). Therefore, I begin looking on Pinterest for what was out there.

I came across Ana White (www.ana-white.com) who is simply amazing! She had a beautiful farmhouse coffee table design in which we fell in love!

Farmhouse Coffee Table Plans from Ana White

Farmhouse Coffee Table plans from http://www.ana-white.com

After printing the plans, I showed dad what I wanted to do. At first he was hesitant because he hasn’t built anything like this for over 20 years. However, he knew that this was something I wanted to do. Plus, we both thought this would be a great way to work on our relationship. After buying the lumber from Lowe’s, it took us three weekends to cut, build, and paint it. The picture below show the phases from each weekend.

Overall, I spend a little over $100 and three weekends on this beautiful coffee table that will last for years! After completing this project, my dad and I were proud of our efforts. We were both proud of the end result and look forward in working together on our next woodworking project.

Leave a Reply

